My Favorite Blueberry Muffins

One of my favorite things besides running is food, and luckily they often seem to compliment one another.  I’d be lying if I said that I hadn’t noticed that running allows me to indulge in a few more snacks without accumulating extra weight.  I’d hate to say that I run so I can eat, but, well… it doesn’t hurt.

There’s a lot to be said for fueling properly, and today, rather than talk about running, I’m going to talk about one of my favorite ways to fuel – with my favorite blueberry muffins.  Blueberry muffins and other deliciously carby carbs are perfect for a pre-run snack because all that sugar can be put to good use right away.

I’ve been on a quest lately to find my “ultimate” version of every classic recipe.  There aren’t many things more classic than a warm, fresh, blueberry muffin, and I’m always looking for one that satisfies my craving for something sweet while meeting my expectations for delivering some worthwhile nutrients.

In other words, if I were going to just waste a bunch of calories with no nutritional value, I would choose a cupcake.  I have higher expectations for muffins.  Muffins need to deliver.

The Foodie Physician's Rise and Shine Blueberry Muffins | thebahamallama.wordpress.com

I finally found a recipe for muffins that do exactly that – they delivered on their promise of being nutritionally better than cupcakes.  They’ve got blueberries!  (Obviously, but still… )  They’ve got oatmeal!  (Fiber! Complex carbohydrates!)  They’ve got wheat germ!  (Omega 3 fatty acids!)  Score.  Most importantly, they pass the taste test.  I would actually like to eat the whole dozen in one sitting, and I feel confident that I could get that done if I were brave enough to try.

The Foodie Physician's Rise and Shine Blueberry Muffins | thebahamallama.wordpress.com

In the process, perhaps the best outcome of all was that my search led me to a new food blog which I adore. The Foodie Physician (www.thefoodiephysician.com) is full of great recipes with a focus on health.

You can find her original post including the recipe here. While you’re at it, browse the site – I was super impressed.  I now have a longer list of things I must try.

Leave a Reply

